Centre for Development of Advanced Computing

CDAC Pune Center

Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC) is a premier Research & Development organization of the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology, Government of India for carrying out R&D in IT, Electronics and associated areas. C-DAC has been working on strengthening national technological capabilities in India in the context of global developments. As an institution for high-end Research and Development (R&D), C-DAC has been at the forefront of the Information Technology (IT) revolution, constantly building capacities in emerging/enabling technologies and innovating and leveraging its expertise to develop and deploy IT products and solutions for different sectors of the economy. C-DAC has also worked closely with Government of India to establish similar Centres of Excellence in IT across Africa, Latin America, Middle East, CIS, South-east Asia region and Pacific Island Countries.

For more details visit: www.cdac.in

The University of the South Pacific Cook Islands Campus

USP Cook Islands

The University of the South Pacific is the premier institution of higher learning for the Pacific region, uniquely placed in a region of extraordinary physical, social and economic diversity. Established in 1968, USP is one of only two universities of its type in the world. It is jointly owned by the governments of 12 member countries: Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Samoa. The University has campuses in all member countries. The main campus, Laucala, is in Fiji. The Alafua Campus in Samoa is where the School of Agriculture and Food Technology is situated, and the Emalus Campus in Vanuatu is the location for the School of Law. The University of the South Pacific (USP) is the premier provider of tertiary education in the Pacific region and an international centre of excellence for teaching, research consulting and training on all aspects of Pacific culture, environment and human resource development needs.

CEIT Oversight

Joint Project Monitoring Committee

The JPMC will provide oversight throughout the establishment phase of the CEIT, throughout the two years of operation, and the evaluation of the CEIT.

As per the MOU, Article 3, the JPMC must consist of “members from India and the Cook Islands to facilitate the implementation of the project and review progress of work done by CDAC.”
The membership of the JPMC shall be comprised of representatives from;

  1. The Cook Islands Government:
    a. The Ministry of Education – Secretary or ICT Director
    b. The Office of the Prime Minister; Policy Director and/or ICT Director
    c. The Ministry of Finance and Economic Management; Secretary or representative
  2. The Government of the Republic of India;
  3. The Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC); Master trainer
  4. The Cook Islands Private Sector
  5. The Civil Society; Cook Islands Internet Action Group
  6. The Implementing Agency: University of the South Pacific, CI Campus Director
  7. The Centre for Excellence in IT, CEIT Director